About Leenane NS

A litle bit about ourselves, our history and our ethos...

The School

There are two mainstream classrooms here and we cover the primary curriculum as set out by the Department of Education and Skills. We share a learning support teacher with a neighbouring school.

In addition to the core subjects we pride ourselves on providing a wide and varied selection of extra-curricular activities which gives every child a chance to explore all aspects of their personality. Examples of these activities are to be found in our school activities section of the website. Small numbers at this school ensure that your child receives plenty of attention.

We value each child equally and we strive to cultivate a happy, caring and relaxed atmosphere where each child feels safe, secure and happy. We place a huge importance on the junior end of the school and are very aware of the concerns of new parents. The infant classes form the foundation of educational achievement and the settling in period for children is a crucial time.

A child who gets a good start in school will generally progress happily through the different class levels. Our staff are proactive in their approach to the day to day activities of the school and all problems are resolved with a focus on the child. Leenane NS has a Catholic ethos and operates under the patronage of Archbishop Michael Neary, Archdiocese of Tuam.

The school is very welcoming and inclusive of everyone, particularly newcomers to our area.


The Mercy Sisters founded a convent in Leenane on 26th April 1946. This convent was dedicated to the Immaculate Heart of Mary. The sisters continued to provide primary education in the village for over 27 years and the school garden won many prizes at national level. Drama was also very much encouraged and the school excelled in this area.

The present school building was built in 1960. However following the amalgamation of the Mercy Sisters in Tuam in 1971, the future of small convent communities was examined and the convent in Leenane was closed in 1973.

The following year Maureen Joyce was appointed Principal of Leenane National School, which started a new era of lay teachers at the school. Teachers who taught here from 1974 to the present day are: 
Maureen Joyce (principal 1974-2005)
Patricia Farrell (assistant 1974-1976)
Olive Summerville (assistant 1976-1993)
Alice Freeley (assistant 2000-present)
Ide Tynan (principal 2005-2010)
Garry Kane (principal 2010-present)

Board Of Management

  • Patron's Nominees: Liam Gavin (Chairperson), Fr. Kieran Burke
  • Teacher Representatives: Garry Kane, Alice Freeley
  • Parent Nominees: Alex Goor, Chloe Bolger (Treasurer)
  • Community Representatives: Siobhán Wood, Cathy Joyce

Scoil Mhuire an Chroí gan Smál
County Galway


Email: info@leenanens.ie
Phone: +353 (0) 95 42366
Roll Number: 18490T